#ThriftyThursday: Charity shop haul

I have a confession to make. I watch haul videos. And not ironically.

I know I shouldn’t. But there’s something about super rich, super peppy American teenagers unloading bags of clothes and make up that cost more than my monthly rent that I just can’t switch off from. It’s late night car crash web viewing.

I took myself out shopping this afternoon for a bit of a charity shop scour. Our town is blessed with plenty of charity shops – some good, some bad and a few seriously overpriced. You have to be willing to dig. And dismiss 95% of what you see. And avoid static build up so as not to set off a spark and send rack upon rack of polyester up in mothball scented flames.

But it is a pleasant way to spend an hour or two, and anything you buy is doing some good: money goes to charity, you keep something out of landfill and at worst, you decide you don’t want it and then give it back to be sold again.

So here comes today’s charity shop haul…

IMG_1002
In a fair world, it’d be me rocking this coat. It’s so swishy. A genuine wool double breasted dress coat with an extra flouncy skirt and brass buttoned epaulettes on the shoulders. Originally from Next, and including a jazzy polka dot lining.

Sadly I no longer wear an age 11-12, so this is my daughter rocking it. A meagre £1.49.

IMG_1010

Today she lucked out with the books too. She’s only become a vociferous reader in the past few months, so I’m trying to introduce her to as many new and wonderful kiddo books as possible. Ok, so the Choose Your Own Adventure is probably a bit grown up for a seven year old, but we can read it together and I still love them!

All of these were 20p each.

IMG_1004

Ahhh, onto books for Mummy.

Traditional Farmhouse Fare is a collection of recipes from the readers of Farmer’s Weekly. Most recipes are submitted (in my imagination) by ruddy faced kindly West Country farmer’s wives with a brood of starving/strapping farm hands arriving at the Aga at tea time.

IMG_1008 IMG_1009

Nothing slimming here folks. This is the food that’ll sustain me until Spring.

IMG_1005 IMG_1006 IMG_1007

In complete contrast, I was also introduced to the Candy Kittens. Apparently it’s a camp-as-Christmas sweetie emporium in the West End. Their goodies are stocked in Waitrose now too. This book is complete fluff – and includes a recipe for marshmallow fluff – but I can see kiddo and I making quite a few things from it on rainy afternoons.

On this charity shop haul, grown up books were 40p a pop.

IMG_1012 IMG_1011 IMG_1003

And finally… some tat. Monkey and bunny cable ties for 20p each to tidy up the chaos under my desk. Tiny kawaii gift boxes that are just big enough to fit about 3 sweets and have already been nicked (30p). And quirky reuseable shopping bags (again 20p each) that fit in the bottom of my handbag so that I might remember to take them out with me.

I just realised I haven’t photographed my best find – these Next jeans. BNWT. In my size. £4.

All in all, a very successful trip. Less than £10 spent, goodies galore, and a good deed done.

PLEASE comment if you’d like more charity shop haul posts like this… I’m never sure who is reading. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close